The most recent trend are monthly subscription boxes.  There are so many subscription boxes for every hobby on the market!  After much research, I have decided to subscribe to POPSUGAR Must Have monthly subscription.  This is a women’s lifestyle box, “POPSUGAR is everything a woman loves, all in one place.”  This includes home items, beauty products, snacks, etc.  This subscription box costs $39.95 per month.  However, the total of the items in the box retail for $150 to $200.

… and here it is …

POPSUGAR Must Have - September 2014

POPSUGAR Must Have – September 2014

What Inspired September’s POPSUGAR Must Have Box:

  • Autumn Leaves
  • Long Walks
  • New Tunes
  • Back To School
  • Fashion Week
  • Football

Contents:

  • Tilo Scarves – Modal Gradation Scarf in Rasin
  • Nicole Miller – Stereo Earbuds
  • Urban Remedy – Almond Brownie
  • Oribe – Superfine Purse Size Hair Spray
  • Letter C Design – Gold Foil Arrow Pencils
  • Riffle Paper Co. – Garance Dore Assorted Girls Set

Special Extras:

  • Nike – $20 Gift Card
  • Ghirardelli – Milk Choclate Sea Salt & Almond Minis

Review:

  • Tilo Scarves – Modal Gradation Scarf in Rasin: Sold at Saks Fifth Avenue, Fred Segal, and Ron Herman, this hand-dyed modal scarf provides warmth and style as you layer your way into fall.  Suggested Retail $125 | www.tiloscarves.com

I love scarves!  After reviewing numerous unboxing YouTube videos, it appears that there is always a scarf in one month’s box.  This year it happens to be September!  (What a wonderful month!  YAAY Virgos!)  Now you may be asking yourself, what in the world is modal?  Modal is a type of rayon, a semi-synthetic cellulose fiber made by spinning reconstituted cellulose, such as from beech trees.  It can be used alone or with other fibers, for example, pajamas, towels, bathrobes, underwear, bed sheets, etc.  In a nutshell, it is a silk like fabric.

Tilo is a modern collection of scarves crafted from luxurious cashmere, silk and fine wool.  The emphasis is on natural fiber, interesting textures and a modern colour palette.  Tilo Scarves can only be purchased at three retailers Saks Fifth Avenue, Fred Segal and Ron Herman.  However, their collection of beautiful scarves can be seen on their website at www.tiloscarves.com.

  • Nicole Miller – Stereo Earbuds: Listen to your favorite tunes with these fun and functional earbuds with three ear-cap sizes.  Suggested Retail: $20 | www.iWaveaudio.com

Nicole Miller is a fashion brand for women’s clothing and accessories.  You can view her line at www.nicolemiller.com.  These ear buds are nice because they provide three ear-cap sizes.  In regards to audio quality, I would not recommend these for high end quality music listening.  There is no tonal balance and I prefer to stick to my Apple ear buds, I received with my iPhone.  However, if I was in desperate need of ear buds, these would suffice.

  • Urban Remedy – Almond Brownie: Made with 100 percent organic, quality ingredients, this almond brownie from Urban Remedy, for which Cindy Crawford is a brand ambassador and partner, is the smart way to indulge.  Suggested Retail: $6 | www.urbanremedy.com

I have not attempted to eat the Almond Brownie.  To be honest with you, it looks like a big turd in a bag.  No joke!  I will eventually open it and taste it and will report back once I try it.  Urban Remedy also included a $10 off any purchase of $50 or more from their website.  However, after reviewing their website, I was not enticed to order any of their products.

  • Oribe – Superfine Purse Size Hair Spray: When you need to tame those fly-aways in a pinch, this purse-size hair spray from celebrity favorite Oribe will give you reliable hold.  Suggested Retail: $21.50 | www.oribe.com

Oribe describes this hair spray as, “A sheer, modern hairspray with medium hold.  Oribe designed superfine to bring new technology to old-style glamour, resulting in flexible, brushable, shiny-soft control.  The exclusive ultra-dry finish won’t dampen or dull smooth styles.”

I love this hair spray and use it every day. I love the light hold and the scent.  It truly works as designed.

The hair spray can be purchased at hair salons as well as at www.oribe.com.

  • Purse Size – 2.2 oz – $21.50
  • Full Size – 9 oz – $32
  • Letter C Design – Gold Foil Arrow Pencils: Ditch your average number two pencil, and write down all your bright ideas with these hand-foil-stamped arrow pencils instead.  Suggested Retail: $5 | www.shoplettercdesign.com

Letter C Design is all about creating cheer in everyday … by offering paper goods with endless possibilities – whether it is sending a note, writing down bright ideas or adding that special touch to packages.  This company is an independent paper goods studio shop.  (Shop Independent Retailers!)  Letter C Design are clean and simple designs from eco materials.  Collections range from mix and match patterns to simply drawn illustrations and pressed foil stamped goods.

I am probably one of the few people that uses pencils.  But I’m an artist/designer.  I love all the fine art tools.  The set of pencils came with a small pencil sharpener which was nice and useful.  I’m not sure if this is standard for all their packs of pencils or if it was specific to the POPSUGAR Must Have box.  I immediately sharpened a pencil and wrote my draft and thoughts on the products for this review.

  • Riffle Paper Co. – Garance Dore Assorted Girls Set: Partnering with Garance Dore, Rifle Paper Co. presents a stationery set with blank interiors and iconic illustrations – it’s fabulous and versatile.  Suggested Retail: $18 | www.riflepaperco.com

Now living in a mainly paperless, digital world, the act of sending cards and letters is becoming rare.  I love print designs and always try to make an effort to send cards/letters, especially around the holidays.  It is nice to receive “happy mail” instead of a bill.  I surprised my best friend, Monica, in Arizona with one of these cards.

Monica with the Riffle Paper Co - Garance Dore Girl Card I sent her

Be sure to check out Monica’s blog as well. (rmvaghela.wordpress.com)  She has some great health tips!

Special Extras!

  • Nike – $20 Gift Card: After you’ve found your prefect Nike Pro Bra, use this $20 gift card to make the look complete.  This new bra collection features over 25 sizes to give you the desired support for the perfect fit.

I am very picky about my sports bra and will not commit to buying a sports bra until I have had a chance to try it on.  Thankfully, the gift card can be used for any item on www.nike.com.  I used my credit to purchase a pair of bright pink workout shorts.  I paid $20.76 after the gift card was applied.  However, after placing my order I noticed that I could have received free two day shipping.  I was a tad bummed I could not change my shipping for my order.  But I did receive my shorts within two business days.

  • Ghirardelli – Milk Chocolate Sea Salt & Almond Minis: Individually wrapped, these mini Ghirardelli sea salt and almond crunch chocolates make snacking on the go so much simpler.

These bite size chocolates were wonderful.  They were just enough chocolate to get my sweet tooth fix each evening.  You can never go wrong with chocolate for women!

Overall, I enjoyed the September 2014 POPSUGAR Must Have Box.  I have received October 2014 box and am still trying out all the products.  I am targeting to post a review prior to receiving the November 2014 box.  So stay tuned!

If you are interested in subscribing to POPSUGAR Must Have Box, you can sign up using this link: Click Here and receive $5 off your first box.

Note: For the past six months, I was a subscriber to WhimseyBox, a monthly DIY Craft Kit.  I had always enjoyed the crafts, however, in August 2014, it appears the company has run into issues.  Some months were skipped and there has been a lack of communication from their support team via e-mail and phone.  Thankfully, I prepaid for six months and canceled my subscription as soon as the six months ended.  On the down side, I only received five DIY Craft Kits, when I paid for six.  Honestly, I did not feel it was in my best interest to dispute. For those interested in WhimseyBox monthly subscription, I would advise not subscribing until they can provide an update on their subscription and customer service status.

