It is with great sorrow that my family and I made the decision, today, to put our family golden retriever, Sunny, to sleep.  Within the last few weeks, Sunny was unable to walk.  The veterinarian found that she was severely anemic and possibly had neurological damage from suffering from a stroke.  My family and I knew we only had a matter of weeks or days with her and did our best to keep her comfortable.  While my family was vacationing at the beach and I was dog-sitting, Sunny became very ill and stopped eating.  We felt that this was a sign from her that it was her time to leave us and that she was possibly suffering more and more each day.  She was 12 years old.

The trio of buddies, Sunny, Mr. Yo and Miss. Kirby, now rest together in the heavens above.  All of whom we miss so very much.

This loss of a family pet was the most difficult for me.  Leaving Sunny at the vet clinic and returning home alone was the most daunting thing I have ever had to do alone.  I cried all day and periodically still shed tears of sorrow.  I know each day it will get easier, but today was by far the most difficult.

I want to thank the friends and family that shared their kind and caring words with me to grant me strength through this rough time.

Sunny will always will be in our hearts.

RIP_Sunny

“It came to me that every time I lose a dog they take a piece of my heart with them, and every new dog who comes into my life gifts me with a piece of their heart.  If I live long enough all the components of my heart will be dong, and I will become as generous and loving as they are.”

“Dog is God spelled backwards, they are only on loan to us for a short time.”

 

