Cook out season is here!  In the south, pickles are a MUST HAVE at a cook out.  I love pickles!  This summer I am attempting to make my own.  (How hard could it be right?!)  I researched some recipes online and found this super easy recipe from The Brothers Green on YouTube.  (P.S. They are one of my favorite shows to watch on The Official Hungry Channel.  They now have their own YouTube channel called Brothers Green Eats, be sure to check them out!)

Below is the YouTube video and recipe.

Sweet & Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 Cucumbers
  • 1/2 Cup Dill
  • 3-5 Garlic Cloves
  • 1-2 Jalapenos
  • 1 Quart Mason Jar
  • 2-3 Tablespoons Salt
  • 2-3 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 1 Cup Vinegar

Directions:

  1. Clean and cut cucumbers length wise in to quaters.  (This is hot dog length to make spears, for all those that get length and width confused.  Yes, I admit, I am one of them!)
  2. Pack quarter cucumber spears into the 1 quarter Mason Jar.
  3. Smash garlic cloves and remove garlic peel.  Pack garlic cloves into Mason Jar with cucumbers.
  4. Dice jalapenos and add them to the Mason Jar.  You can have the option to add the seeds and white membrane to Mason jar. (Note: I added 1 whole jalapeno with all parts.  The pickles turned out quite spicy.)
  5. Rough chop the dill and smash the dill on top of all the ingredients in the Mason Jar.
  6. To make pickling brine, add 1 cup of vinegar, 1 cup of water, salt and sugar to a pot on medium high heat.  (I used 1 to 1 ratio of salt to sugar.)
  7. Bring to a boil.
  8. Once ingredients are combined in the brine, pour in mason jar over all ingredients.
  9. Cap and place the pickles in the refrigerator for a few hours to marinate.

Enjoy!

