Good Evening!  I know, I know … I am slacking!  But working over 40 hours a week, maintaining a home (which I will report, being a homeowner is nice, but a lot of work), taking care of 2 mini wiener dogs, spending time with family and friends, all while attempting to live life to its fullest has had me away from my computer.  BUT!  Tonight that changes, with my trusty smarty pants dog by my side, my laptop in bed with me and my creative brain ready to share.  Ready … set …

lola_and_i_bloggingFor those of you that have been patiently awaiting for me to share The Home Depot Do-It-Herself Booklet for May, Inspired by Pinterest: Succulent Gardens, here it is!

I’m sorry it took so long!  I decided to climb through the mess of my office tonight to reach my scanner and scan the 7 page booklet.

I admit!  I was sad that the succulent plant I assembled at the Home Depot Do-It-Herself class was not raffled off.  BUT!  I was inspired to create my own!  Here it is!

my_succulent_plantAmazingly, the weekend after I attended the Do-It-Herself Class, I found tons of succulent plants at the plant shed at the NC Farmer’s Market.

The succulent I purchased was about $4.  It is a fairly decent size and definitely a lot more bang of my buck.  I priced this same succulent at Walmart.  Walmart had their succulent plants priced between $5 and $10.  The plants were not as healthy and large as the ones I found at the farmer’s market.

I purchased the large glass container from Hobby Lobby for $8, plus I had a 40% coupon, which reduced it to approximately $5.  I also purchased 2 containers of uncolored sand at Hobby Lobby, approximately cost $2.50 each.  The rocks and soil, I purchased from Walmart, which ranged to a total of $6.

You do not have to purchase rocks and sand for this project.  I added the rocks and sand to make it more decorative.  You can use any sort of container for succulent plants.  The booklet, which I provided, has plenty of container suggestions.

Total project cost: approximately $20

If you create a succulent garden, please share pictures of your garden.  I look forward to seeing your creative ideas!

For LIVE up-to-date inspirations, please feel free to follow my instgram!  (@thatgirl_leah)

